Smith-Free’s Chairman Jim Free Receives Prestigious CMA Award

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, the Smith-Free Group’s Chairman, Jim Free, received the J. William Denny Award in recognition of his work and contributions to the Country Music Association (CMA) Board of Directors. Free co-founded the Smith-Free Group in 1995 and has served on the CMA Board of Directors since 1997.

Upon learning of this award, Jon Deuser, Smith-Free Group’s President and CEO, offered the following accolades to Jim Free: “The Smith-Free family congratulates Jim for this well-deserved award. Anyone who has had the good fortune of working with Jim understands the depth of knowledge and experience he provides. He has been country music’s man in Washington. This award memorializes what many of us already knew about Jim – he’s one of a kind, and we’re tremendously proud of him.”

To learn more about the history of the J. William Denny Award as well as its previous recipients, you can click here. The award is given in recognition and appreciation of a lifetime of dedication, distinguished service, and meritorious contributions to the CMA Board of Directors.




Scroll to Top